Archive

Archive for the ‘Databases’ Category

9th Grade – Speed Dating with Books and Library Orientations

September 3, 2015 Leave a comment

The 9th grade students have visited the library twice in the past few days. The first time was to get acquainted with some great books, such as our new Sakura Medal titles and books recommended by the library staff. They sat in circles and spent one minute each with five books. Then they discussed the five books with the others in their circle. The second visit was a library orientation. The students worked in teams to discover information about both the physical and virtual library and then presented what they had learned to the rest of the class. Topics covered included the Online Databases, the Citation and Creative Commons Guide, the Destiny Library Catalog, the Sakura Medal Program, the fiction genres in the library, the Tech Help Desk, and rules around borrowing computer chargers, books, Kindles, iPads and other library materials.

Speed Dating with Books

Speed Dating with Books

9th Grade Library Orientation

9th Grade Library Orientation

IMG_4297

The J-Sem Project

This year’s J-Sem projects have ranged from the history and significance of Ikebana in Japanese culture to the development of the modern Japanese toilet. Students have been doing very high level research, taking full advantage of our databases and searching Google Scholar. The library staff have visited the classroom several times to discuss search strategies and introduce databases such as EBSCO’s Academic Search Premier. Students have emailed us with titles of articles they need help accessing and asking for citation help. Chicago endnotes are tricky, but in the end the job got done!

Digital Public Library of America – A New Database!

April 15, 2014 Leave a comment

 

Digital Public Library of America

The Digital Public Library of America brings together the riches of America’s libraries, archives, and museums, and makes them freely available to the world. It strives to contain the full breadth of human expression, from the written word, to works of art and culture, to records of America’s heritage, to the efforts and data of science. The DPLA aims to expand this crucial realm of openly available materials, and make those riches more easily discovered and more widely usable and used, through its three main elements:

1. A portal that delivers students, teachers, scholars, and the public to incredible resources, wherever they may be. Far more than a search engine, the portal provides innovative ways to search and scan through the united collection of millions of items, including by timeline, map, virtual bookshelf, format, and topic.
2. A platform that enables new and transformative uses of our digitized cultural heritage. With an application programming interface (API) and maximally open data, the DPLA can be used by software developers, researchers, and others to create novel environments for learning, tools for discovery, and engaging apps.
3. An advocate for a strong public option in the twenty-first century.

 

Explore the New Questia School Database

November 2, 2012 Leave a comment

Questia School has a slick new interface and many powerful tools. Every ASIJ HS student now has access to 78,000 ebooks, in addition to magazine, journal, newspaper and encyclopedia articles. www.questiaschool.com
Here are some tutorials we’ve created for you.  http://youtube.com/watch?v=TobFOwi3ZQc  and http://youtube.com/watch?v=3JQXdMlLbDQ